Skip to main content.
UND Home > Chemistry > Chu

the Chu research group

 

 

Home

 

Qianli Rick Chu

 

Group Members

 

Research

 

Facilities

 

Publications

 

Teaching

 

Positions

 



Current Group Members

Rahul

Rahul Shahni
Graduate Student (joined the group as a Ph.D. student in Aug. 2015)

M.S. Org. Chem., 2013, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi, New Delhi, India
B.Sc. Chem., 2009, University of Delhi, New Delhi, India

 

E-mail: rahul.shahni@und.edu

Houssein

Houssein Amjaour
Graduate Student (joined the group as a Ph.D. student in Jan. 2017)

M.S. Chem., 2006, Al al-Bayt University, Mafraq, Jordan
B.Sc. Chem., 1994, University of Sabah, Sabah, Libya

 

E-mail: houssein.amjaour@und.edu

Dominic

Dominic Nkafu Nkemngong
Graduate Student (joined the group as a Ph.D. student in Aug. 2017)

M.Sc. Molecular Diagnostic Science, 2015, University of Buea, Buea, Cameroon
B.Sc. Biochemistry, 2012, University of Buea, Buea, Cameroon


E-mail: dominic.nkemngong@und.edu

Joseph

Joseph Robertson
Graduate Student (joined the group as a Ph.D. student in Nov. 2018)

B.Sc. Chem., 2017, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, MI

 

E-mail: joseph.robertson@und.edu

Brent

Brent Kastern
Graduate Student (rejoined the group as a Ph.D. student in Jan. 2020)

US Navy (Jul. 2015 - Dec 2019)
Graduate Student at UND (Aug. 2014 - May 2015)
M.S. Org. Chem., 2014, University of Minnesota at Duluth, Duluth, MN
B.Sc. Chem. Eng., 2006, University of Minnesota at Duluth, Duluth, MN

 

E-mail: brent.kastern@und.edu

Alex

Alexandra Rios Diaz
Undergraduate Researcher (joined the group in Dec. 2017)

B.A. Major: Spanish and Minor P&R: Phil.

 

Email: alexandra.riosdiaz@und.edu

Richard

Richard Sather III
Undergraduate Researcher (joined the group in Aug. 2018)

B.Sc. Major: Bio./Pre-Med
B.A. Major: Music – Cello Studies


Email: richard.sather@und.edu

Briana

Briana Krupinsky
Undergraduate Researcher (joined the group in Jan. 2019)

B.Sc. Major: Chemistry (ACS-certified) and Minor: Mathematics


Email: briana.krupinsky@und.edu

Zack

Zachary Meduna
Undergraduate Researcher (joined the group in May 2019)

B.Sc. Major: Chemical Engineering/Pre-Medicine

 

Email: zachary.meduna@und.edu

Mckenzie

McKenzie Roman
Combined BS/MS Student (joined the group in Aug. 2019)

B.Sc. Major: Chemistry (ACS-certified)

 

Email: mckenzie.roman@und.edu

Pinky

Pinky Nishad
Volunteer (joined the group in Sept. 2019)

M. Com., 2015, Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women's University, Mumbai, India
B.Com., 2013, Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women's University, Mumbai, India

Email: pinkynishad11@gmail.com

 

 
Former Group Members
Zhihan

Zhihan Wang, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student (Jun. 2012 - May 2017)
Postdoctoral Research Scholar (Nov. 2017 - Aug. 2018)

M.S. Org. Chem., 2009, Jilin University, Changchun, P. R. China
B.Sc. Chem., 2007, Jilin University, Changchun, P. R. China

Current Position: Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Eastern New Mexico University, Portales, NM

E-mail: zhihan.wang@enmu.edu

Julius

Julius N. Ngwendson, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Scholar (Jun. 2009 - Aug. 2010)

Ph.D. Org. Chem., 2008, U. of North Dakota, ND
M.S. Org. Chem., 1998, Buea, Cameroon
B.S. Chem., 1996, Buea, Cameroon

Current Position: Faculty, Department of Chemistry, Normandale Community College, Bloomington, MN

Email: ngundeju@hotmail.com

Xiaodong

Xiaodong Hou, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Scholar (Oct. 2009 - Sept. 2014)

Ph.D. Polymer Chem.& Physics, 2009, Shanghai Jiao Tong U., China
M.S. Macromolecules, 2005, Shanxi, China
B.S. Chem., 2002, Shanxi, China

Current Position: Lab Director/Lecture, Enviromental Analytical Research Laboratory, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, ND

Email: houxd8097@yahoo.com.cn

Zijun

Zijun (Dave) Wang
M.S. Student (Aug. 2013 - Dec. 2016)

B.E. Chem. Eng., 2011, Harbin Univeristy of Sci. & Tech., Harbin, P. R. China

Current Position: Molecular Scientist at Capacitor Sciences, Inc., San Francisco Bay Area, CA

E-mail: zijun.wang@und.edu

Rajiv

Rajiv K. Singh
M.S. Student (Aug. 2009 - May 2012)

M.S. Organofluorine Chem., 2009, Southern Illinois U., Edwardsville, IL,
M.Sc. Chem., Magadh University, India

Current Position: Faculty, Department of Chemistry, Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College, Cumberland, KS

Email: rajivsingh03@yahoo.com

Jhansi

Jhansi R. Kalluri
Graduate Student (Feb. 2010 - May 2011)

M.S. Chem., 2009, Jackson State University, MS
B.Pharm. 2006, From Andhra University, India

Email: jhansi.kalluri@gmail.com

Micah

Micah Mabin
Undergraduate Researcher Apr. 2016 - Aug. 2019)

B.Sc. Major: Chemistry

 

Email: micah.mabin@und.edu

Sully

Sullivan Busch
Undergraduate Researcher (Jan. 2018 - Mar. 2019)

B.Sc. Major: Pre-Med/ Medical Laboratory Science and Minor: Chemistry

Current Position: Student at UND

Email: sullivan.busch@und.edu

Austin

Austin Rebel
Undergraduate Researcher (Jan. 2017 - May 2018)

B. Sc. Major: Chemistry/Pre-medicine, Minor: Biology, graduated in May 2018

Current Position: Student in Physician Assistant Program, UW-La Crosse

Email: austin.r.rebel@und.edu

Katie

Jenna Puttkammer
Undergraduate Researcher (Mar. 2016 - May 2018)

B.Sc. Major: IDS/Pre-Pharm. and Minor: Spanish & Chem., graduated in May 2018

Current Position: Medical School Student, University of Minnesota

Email: jenna.puttkammer@und.edu

Tiffany

Tiffany Shiu
Undergraduate Researcher (May 2016 - Dec 2017)

Pre-medicine
B.Acc. Accountancy, 2015, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, ND
B.A. Chinese Studies, 2015, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, ND

Current Position: Software Engineer, Google LLC

Email: tiffany.shiu.2@und.edu

Mark

Mark Scheuring
Undergraduate Researcher (Jan. 2017 - Dec 2017)

B.S. Major: Chemistry, graduated in Dec. 2017

 

Email: mark.scheuring@und.edu

Ben

Benjamin Nelson
Undergraduate Researcher (Jan. 2017 - Dec. 2017)

B.S. Major: Biochemistry, graduated in May 2018

Current Position: USA Military

Email: benjamin.a.nelson@und.edu

Quintin

Quintin Elliott
Undergraduate Researcher (Jan. 2016 - Jul. 2017)

B.Sc. Major: Chem., graduated in May 2017

Current Position: Ph.D. Student, Department of Chemistry, Florida State University

Email: quintin.elliott@und.edu

Benjamin

Benjamin Miller
Undergraduate Researcher (Feb. 2015 - May 2017)

B.Sc. Major: Bio./Pre-Med., graduated in May 2017

 

Email: benjamin.t.miller@und.edu

Katie

Katelyn Randazzo
Undergraduate Researcher (Feb. 2014 - Aug. 2016)

B.E. Major: Chem. Eng. and Minor: Chem., graduated in May 2016

Current Position: PhD Student, Chemical & Biological Engineering Department, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ

Email: katelyn.randazzo@und.edu

Joe

Joseph Lee
Undergraduate Researcher (May 2012 - Dec. 2015)

B.Sc. Major: Bio., graduated in May 2016

 

Email: j.lee@my.und.edu

David

David Seals
Undergraduate Researcher (Sept. 2014 - May 2015)

B.Sc. Major: Chemistry, graduated in Dec. 2015

 

Email: david.seals@my.und.edu

Eric

Erin Wysocki
Undergraduate Researcher (May 2013 - Aug. 2014)

B.Sc. Major: Community Nutrition, expected to graduate in May 2016

 

Email: erin.b.wysock@my.und.edu

Jennifer

Jennifer Schlak
Undergraduate Researcher (Jan 2013 - Dec. 2013)

B.Sc. Major: B.S. - Psychology, graduated in Dec. 2013

Current Position: Ph.D. Student, Clinical Psychology, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

Email: jennifer.schlak@my.und.edu

Casey

Casey Oian
Undergraduate Researcher (Mar 2012 - Aug. 2013)

B.Sc. Major: Chem., graduated in Aug. 2013.

Current Position: PhD Student, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

Email: casey.oian@my.und.edu

Nicole

Nicole Larson
Undergraduate Researcher (Aug. 2012 - Dec. 2012)

B.Sc. Major: Chem., expected to graduate in May 2014.

 

Email: nicole.larson.3@my.und.edu

Matt

Matthew Schober
Undergraduate Reseracher (Feb. 2010 - Aug. 2012)

B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering from UM in May 2014.
Graduate from Red River High School in Grand Forks in 2009

Email: matthew.schober.2@und.edu

Alys

Alys Seay
Undergraduate Reseracher (Sept. 2011 - Dec. 2011)

B.A. degree in Spanish from UND in Aug. 2010.

Email: alys.seay@gmail.com

Monty

Monty S. Bulzomi
Undergraduate Researcher (Sept. 2009 - May 2010)

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, 2010, U. of North Dakota, ND

Current Position: Student, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, MN

Email: monty.bulzomi@und.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The University of North Dakota Grand Forks, ND 58202
Send questions/comments about this web site to the Dr. Qianli Rick Chu.
Tel: 701-777-3941
Email: chu@chem.und.edu

W3C Vailid xhtmlW3C CSS